Brisbane Sinhala School

Our Mission

Promote, foster and propagate the Sinhala cultural heritage in Queensland, Australia within the framework of multiculturalism, with a view to achieving unity in diversity in one Australia.


Opened 10th May 1991 -
Founders Kanthi Wijesoma, Dharmadasa Gonsalkorala, Esmin Gonsalkorala and Haritha Wijeratne
First Principal Mrs Chandra Abeyadeera
Current location Dutton Park State School
Current No of Students 80
Current No of Teachers 13
School days Fortnightly on Friday night from 7 pm to 9 pm.
School Information:

  • Mrs Indrani Doloswala, mobile: 0402908519
  • Priyanthi Kuruppu, mobile :3113 3677
  • Punyasiri Deegala, mobile : 0432798305/0431432460
  • Dileepa Wanigatunga, Phone : 3879 9105
  • Asela Perera, Email :

Sinhala School was founded in 1991 with 26 students at the migrant resource centre in Brisbane and moved to Yungaba at Kangaroo Point shortly after. Mrs Chandra Abeydeera was the first coordinator of the school. The aim of the school is to educate children about the Sri Lankan culture and to develop the Sinhala language skills (speaking, reading and writing). Students also participate in cultural and social activities centred on cultural events such as:

  • Sinhala New Year celebrations
  • Buddha’s birthday celebrations( VesaK)
  • Establishment of Buddhism in Sri Lanka ( Poson)
  • Annual cultural event ‘Saralanga’’ sponsored by SAQ
  • School Concert on the last day of school
  • Radio programs sponsored by 4EB

Currently, the school operates from Dutton park state school premises with around 80 students studying in five levels of classes from preschool to year 7. There are 13 voluntary teachers including a Sri Lankan music teacher.Our present volunteer teachers are Priyanthi Kuruppu, Punyasiri Deegala , Harsha Gunasekara, Asela Perera , Chintthinee Sugathadasa and Deelipa Wanigatunga. Brisbane Sinhala School is sponsored by Sinhala Association of Queensland (SAQ).

Current Teachers

Asela Perera, Sandun De Silva, Prasanna Dolamune, Punyasiri Deegala, Priyanthi Kuruppu, Dileepa Wanigatunga, Harsha Gunasekara,Priyangi Widanapathirana, Chinthani Wasanthi, Varuni Weerasinghe,Cynthia Gunawardana, Muditha Padmawansa, Dulari Dissanayake.

Please navigate through our collection of photos on Google+, click here to see them.